top of page
Southampton Concert Orchestra.jpg

Petrushka and Dvorak Cello Concerto

SCO return to Turner Sims with an exciting programme of music including Stravinsky's Petrushka and Dvorak's Cello Concerto.

Turner Sims Concert Hall, Southampton

Saturday 7th December 2024 - 7:30pm

Ticket Prices: £10.00 - £18.00

The Programme


Igor Stravinsky

Petrushka is a ballet by Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. It was written for the 1911 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company

Petrushka tells the story of the loves and jealousies of three puppets. The three are brought to life by the Charlatan during the 1830 Shrovetide Fair (Maslenitsa) in Saint Petersburg, Russia.

Petrushka brings music, dance, and design together in a unified whole. It is one of the most popular of the Ballets Russes productions


Antonin Dvořák
Cello Concerto

The Cello Concerto in B minor, Op. 104, B. 191, is the last solo concerto by Antonín Dvořák. It was written in 1894 for his friend, the cellist Hanuš Wihan, but was premiered in London on March 19, 1896, by the English cellist Leo Stern.

bottom of page